MIXED VEGETABLES VOL. 1 (ADVANCE REVIEW)

Posted On September - 1 - 2008
  RELEASED BY:   VIZ MEDIA
  AUTHOR / ART:  

AYUMI KOMURA

  FORMAT:   JAPANESE / B&W
  PAGES:   200
  RATING:   T
  RELEASE DATE:   09/02/2008
  REVIEW DATE:   09/01/2008
  REVIEWED BY:   HOLLY ELLINGWOOD



An all-new shojo series combines recipes with romance in Mixed Vegetables. Hanayu Ashitaba is the daughter of a well respected patisserie. She attends a prestigious high school cooking department.  It all seems like smooth sailing except that this little heir to pastries wants only one thing – to be a sushi chef!  She’s so determined to achieve her long held desire that she’s come up with a plan: if she marries into a sushi family, then her family will have no choice but to allow her to follow her dream.  To accomplish this she’s set her sights on her classmate Hayato Hyuga, the mild mannered son of one of the most admired sushi dynasties. However, even the simplest recipes can go awry and this formula for success discovers some unexpected spices when romance fills the air!

 Mixed Vegetables is charming and cute. Hanayu is a single-minded girl but she’s not cruel. When she realizes the selfishness of her attempts to snag Hayato, she feels guilty and resolves to do something about it. But before you know it, they’re neck deep into sudden death cooking exams and sinking fast.  In all the brouhaha, Hanayu gets to realize Hayato’s sweet nature and it’s a recipe sure to win Hanayu’s heart – if she’ll simply buy a clue.  And she’s not the only one challenged by family expectations. It seems Hayato loves making pastries. These crossed stars and mixed messages are simmering for an interesting romance between these two. Can they make their dreams come true and find love in and out of the kitchen? Things are slowly heating up in this romantic comedy.

Fun and light, the story is a fast and enjoyable read. It has a straightforward story-telling manner. The characters are likeable and there’s still a lot to learn about them and their families. It has a pretty shojo art style with a quirky side which suits the comedy aspects well. Special attention is spent on the cooking imagery, risking making some readers hungry for more than the next volume!


IN SUMMARY:
More than recipes get combined in this manga to make an ongoing romance for shojo fans. Readers who enjoy Yakitate Japan and Kitchen Princess will hunger for more of Mixed Vegetables.

Leave a Reply

Copyright © 2004 - 2013 active Anime